Princeton University names Michael Smith a recipient of the Howard T. Behrman Award

May 8, 2023

Michael Smith, McCosh Professor of Philosophy, and a UCHV Executive Committee member, along with Yiyun Li, professor of creative writing in the Lewis Center for the Arts and director of the Program in Creative Writing, was selected as a 2023 recipient of a Howard T. Behrman Award for Distinguished Achievement in the Humanities. The award is conferred by Princeton's Office of the Dean of the Faculty. Professor Smith's distinguished career is dedicated to research central to ethics, moral psychology, philosophy of mind and action, political philosophy, and philosophy of law. 

The Howard T. Behrman Award for Distinguished Achievement in the Humanities was established in 1975 by a gift from Dr. Howard T. Behrman (1914-1985), a dermatologist and benefactor of Princeton University. Noted as Princeton’s highest faculty honor in the humanities, it is awarded annually to select faculty members of Princeton's humanities departments in recognition of research, publication, teaching, or service to the University community. A celebration to honor this year's recipients took place on May 6 at the annual Behrman dinner.

Read the full story on Princeton University's news page which can be found here.