UCHV Seminars and Workshops

The University Center for Human Values sponsors a limited number of seminars and workshops throughout the academic year which seek to incite thought and discussion about ethical issues in both private and public life.


The Other ‘Transitology’: Pathways into and out of Authoritarianism in the Twenty-First Century – Empirical and Normative Perspectives

Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 9:00 am to Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 5:00 pm

A colloquium organized under the auspices of the “Constitutionalism under Stress” Project, co-sponsored by Princeton University...

Location: Marx Hall, Room 301

Hope: A Colloquium

Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 9:00 am to Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 12:00 pm

An inter-disciplinary inquiry into the philosophy, theology, politics and literary history of hope.  Speakers will summarize pre-circulated papers...

Location: Wallace Hall, Room 300

Political Theory Graduate Conference

Fri, Apr 12, 2019, 9:00 am to Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 5:00 pm
Location: TBD

Princeton and the Academy: "Prison Education & Engaged Scholarship"

Mon, Apr 15, 2019, 4:30 pm to 7:00 pm

A conference co-sponsored by the University Center for Human Values and the Prison Teaching Initiative, convened by Ben Berger, spring 2019...

Location: Lewis Library, Room 120

"The Artist in Society": Gustavo Dudamel In Conversation With Fintan O’Toole

Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 8:00 pm
Location: Richardson Auditorium, Alexander Hall

"Structural Transformations of the Public Sphere: Historical and Normative Perspectives"

Fri, Apr 26, 2019 (All day) to Sat, Apr 27, 2019 (All day)

It has become a commonplace that we are living through a profound structural transformation of the public sphere.  More particularly, discussions...

Location: Marx Hall, Room 301

Erik Olsson (Lund University, Sweden): "Does Google Read our Minds? Personalized Search, Filter Bubbles and Democracy"

Tue, May 7, 2019, 12:00 pm to 1:20 pm
Princeton Dialogues on AI and Ethics

Erik J. Olsson, Chair in Theoretical Philosophy, Lund University, Sweden

Location: Marx Hall, Room 301

After the Backlash: Reconsidering the Ethics and Politics of Borders and Migration

Thu, May 9, 2019, 9:00 am to Sat, May 11, 2019, 5:00 pm

"Ethics and Migration: After the Backlash" (May 4-9)

Location: Wallace Hall, Room 300

"Princeton Workshop on Population and Procreation Ethics"

Sat, May 11, 2019 (All day) to Sun, May 12, 2019 (All day)
Overview:
Location: Aaron Burr Hall, Room 219

Workshop on Climate Policy and Sustainable Growth

Fri, May 17, 2019, 9:00 am to Sat, May 18, 2019, 5:00 pm

On May 17-18, 2019, the Princeton Climate Futures Initiative in Science, Values, and Policy is holding a workshop.

Location: Wallace Hall, Room 300

"Frantz Fanon and the Politics of a Global Anti-imperialism," A Workshop on the Manuscript of Anuja Bose

Wed, May 29, 2019, 10:00 am to 3:00 pm

ABSTRACT: In this book manuscript, I trace the ways in which Fanon engages with questions of empire, solidarity, and political...

Location: Marx Hall, Room 301

"Colonialism, Decolonization, and Global Justice"

Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 9:30 am to Sat, Sep 14, 2019, 3:15 pm
Presenters: Anuja Bose – Princeton University Shuk Ying Chan - Princeton University Catherine Lu – McGill University
Location: Marx Hall, Room 301

“Truth and Evidence” American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy Annual Meeting

Fri, Sep 27, 2019, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm

American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy (publishers of annual NOMOS volumes)

Location: Marx Hall, Room 301

Workshop on "Responsibility"

Fri, Oct 11, 2019, 9:00 am to Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 1:30 pm

For more information, please contact: Kimberly Girman: kgirman@princeton.edu

Open to the...

Location: TBD

CITP/UCHV Conference with Joshua Cohen

Fri, Nov 8, 2019, 9:00 am to Sat, Nov 9, 2019, 5:00 pm
Location: TBD

Algorithmic Decision-Making in Democratic Institutions

Fri, Nov 22, 2019, 9:00 am to 6:00 pm

Organized by Annette Zimmermann, Postdoctoral Research Associate in Values and...

Location: Marx Hall, Room 301

Algorithmic Decision-Making in Democratic Institutions

Sat, Nov 23, 2019, 9:00 am to 1:30 pm

Organized by Annette Zimmermann, Postdoctoral Research Associate in Values and...

Location: Marx Hall, Room 301