2020

UnCivil Protest: A Workshop (CANCELED)

Fri, May 15, 2020, 10:00 am to Sat, May 16, 2020, 5:00 pm
Location: TBD
Audience: Open To Princeton students, fellows & faculty
Speaker(s):

Just Hierarchy Without Electoral Democracy: The Case of China (CANCELED)

Tue, May 5, 2020, 12:00 pm to 1:30 pm
Location: TBD
Audience: Open To Princeton students, fellows & faculty
Speaker(s):

Farewell Seminar: The Social Cost of Carbon--and Why the Coronavirus Pandemic is the Best Time to Implement It

Princeton-Central European University Conference [Virtual]

Fri, May 1, 2020, 9:00 am to Sat, May 2, 2020, 5:00 pm
Location: Virtual
Audience: Open To Princeton students, fellows & faculty

Political Philosophy Colloquium: Benjamin Straumann (New York University) (POSTPONED TO SPRING 2021)

Thu, Apr 30, 2020, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Corwin Hall, Room 127
Audience: Open To Princeton students, fellows & faculty

A Discussion with Amy Gutmann and Jonathan D. Moreno (University of Pennsylvania): "Bioethics and the Transformation of Health Care in America" (CANCELED)

Wed, Apr 29, 2020, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Friend Center, Lecture Hall 101
Audience: Free And Open To The Public

Meritocracy and Democracy: Mixed Regimes and the Limits of Political Legitimacy (CANCELED)

Sat, Apr 18, 2020, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Location: Wallace Hall, Room 300
Audience: Other

UCHV 30th Anniversary Conference: "Universities and the Prospect for Democratic Values: Charting the Next 30 Years" (CANCELED)

Fri, Apr 17, 2020, 9:15 am to 5:15 pm
Location: McDonnell Hall, Room A02
Audience: Open To Princeton students, fellows & faculty

Kwame Anthony Appiah (New York University): "What about the workers?" (POSTPONED TO FALL 2020)

Thu, Apr 16, 2020, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Friend Center, Lecture Hall 101
Audience: Free And Open To The Public
Speaker(s):

Political Values, Market Values, Art Values: The Ethics of American Art in the 1980s (CANCELED)

Fri, Apr 3, 2020, 9:30 am to Sat, Apr 4, 2020, 12:30 pm
Location: McCormick Hall, Room 106
Audience: Free And Open To The Public

Program in Ethics and Public Affairs: Helen Frowe (Stockholm University) (POSTPONED TO SPRING 2021)

Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Marx Hall, Room 301
Audience: Open To Princeton students, fellows & faculty

Joe Horton (UCL): "New and Improvable Lives" (CANCELED)

Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Lewis Library, Room 120
Audience: Free And Open To The Public

Simone Chambers (University of California-Irvine) "The People, the Representative, and the Public Sphere: Rethinking democratic concepts in the face of crisis" (POSTPONED TO SPRING 2021)

Ira W DeCamp Bioethics Seminar: Nicholas Southwood (Australian National University) (CANCELED)

Wed, Mar 25, 2020, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Lewis Library, Room 120
Audience: Free And Open To The Public
Speaker(s):

Princeton Project in Philosophy and Religion: “Religion in the Modern University” (CANCELED)

Mon, Mar 23, 2020, 4:30 pm to 6:30 pm
Location: McCormick 101
Audience: Open To Princeton students, fellows & faculty

Gustaf Arrhenius (Institute for Future Studies, Stockholm): "Population Ethics under Risk" (CANCELED)

Wed, Mar 11, 2020, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Lewis Library, Room 120
Audience: Free And Open To The Public

The Cinematic Face (CANCELED)

Wed, Mar 11, 2020, 1:30 pm
Location: Jimmy Stewart Film Theater, 185 Nassau Street, Princeton NJ
Audience: Open To Princeton students, fellows & faculty
Tags: Film Forum

Laura Valentini (London School of Economics): "Claim-rights, Moral Theory, and Social Empowerment"

Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Corwin Hall, Room 127
Audience: Open To Princeton students, fellows & faculty
Speaker(s):

Did Kubrick Invent the 21st Century?

Wed, Mar 4, 2020, 1:30 pm
Location: McCormick Hall, Room 101
Audience: Open To Princeton students, fellows & faculty
Tags: Film Forum

“Thomas Paine on the French Revolution: History and Theory”

Fri, Feb 28, 2020, 2:00 pm to 5:00 pm
Location: Kerstetter Room (Marx Hall, Room 301)
Audience: Open To Princeton students, fellows & faculty

Tamar Schapiro (MIT): “What Makes Weak-Willed Acton Weak?”

Wed, Feb 26, 2020, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Lewis Library, Room 120
Audience: Free And Open To The Public
Speaker(s):

Barnabás Tóth: Those Who Remained (2019)- film screening and discussion with director

Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 2:00 pm
Location: Screening: Garden Theater, Nassau Street, Princeton NJ Discussion: Kerstetter Room (Marx 301)
Audience: Free And Open To The Public
Tags: Film Forum

A Masterclass with Barnabás Tóth

Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 7:00 pm
Location: 5 Ivy Lane
Audience: Other
Tags: Film Forum

Empirical Moral Psychology in the Philosophy Curriculum

Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 9:30 am to 4:00 pm
Location: Maeder Hall, Andlinger Center for Energy and the Environment, 86 Olden Street, Princeton NJ.
Audience: Open To Princeton students, fellows & faculty
Speaker(s):

Paul Starr (Princeton University): "Three Ways of Thinking About the Public"

Thu, Feb 13, 2020, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Marx Hall, Room 301
Audience: Open To Princeton students, fellows & faculty
Speaker(s):

Allen Thompson (Oregon State): "Extreme Weather Ethics: Science, Policy, Justice & Litigation"

Mon, Feb 10, 2020, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Audience: Open To Princeton students, fellows & faculty
Speaker(s):

Is Hope a Virtue? A Workshop

Fri, Feb 7, 2020, 9:00 am to Sat, Feb 8, 2020, 2:00 pm
Audience: By Invitation Only

The Social Criticism & Political Thought Speakers Series

Thu, Feb 6, 2020, 12:00 pm to 1:20 pm
Location: Marx Hall, Room 301
Audience: Open To Princeton students, fellows & faculty
Speaker(s):