Events Archive - 2010

"Capitalism in the Classical and High Liberal Traditions"

Thu, Dec 16, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

"Beyond Point-and-Shoot Morality: Why Psychology Matters for Ethics"

Wed, Dec 8, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Robertson Hall, Bowl 2
Speaker(s):

"Human Dignity"

Thu, Dec 2, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Robertson Hall, Bowl 2
Speaker(s):

“Agreeing to Agree/Disagree: Publicity, Privacy, and Religious Toleration in Hobbes’s Leviathan”

Thu, Nov 18, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

"Geoengineering to Mitigate Climate Change

Tue, Nov 16, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: McCormick 101
Speaker(s):

"The Liberty of the Servants"

Thu, Nov 11, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall
Speaker(s):

"The Malibu Surfer and the Right to Health Care"

Tue, Nov 9, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Robertson Hall, Bowl 2
Speaker(s):

"American Grace: Religious Americans Are Nicer and Happier. Why?"

Thu, Oct 28, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:30 pm
Location: 101 Friend Center
Speaker(s):

"American Grace: Americans Are Religiously Devout and Religiously Divided, yet Religiously Tolerant. Why?"

Wed, Oct 27, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:30 pm
Location: 101 Friend Center
Speaker(s):

“Does Parfit Lay a Glove on Expressivism?”

Tue, Oct 19, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Robertson Hall, Bowl 2
Speaker(s):

Joshua Foa Dienstag / Political Philosophy Colloquium

Thu, Oct 14, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall
Speaker(s):

"Ethics of Life Extension and Human Enhancement"

Mon, Oct 11, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: McCosh 10
Speaker(s):

"What Is Democracy? What Is It Good For?"

Thu, Sep 30, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: 101 McCormick Hall
Speaker(s):

"Freedom of Speech"

Thu, Sep 23, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

“Georgia and Russia in the Summer War of 2008”

Tue, May 11, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: 202 Jones Hall

"Essentially Public Goods"

Sat, May 8, 2010, 10:00 am to 12:00 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall

"The Utopian Surplus of Human Rights"

Fri, May 7, 2010, 5:00 pm to 6:30 pm
Location: 101 McCormick Hall
Speaker(s):

"Speech, Norms and Normality"

Fri, May 7, 2010, 2:00 pm to 4:30 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall

"'Who Decides?' as the Key to Political Philosophy"

Fri, May 7, 2010, 10:00 am to 12:00 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall

"Individual Morality and the Morality of Institutions"

Thu, May 6, 2010, 2:30 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall

"Leading Universities in the 21st Century: Chances and Challenges"

Thu, Apr 29, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Lewis Thomas Lab 003
Speaker(s):

Romeo + Juliet

Mon, Apr 26, 2010, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum

"The Possibility of Choice: Three Accounts of the Problem with Coercion"

Wed, Apr 21, 2010, 12:00 pm to 1:20 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

“Kith, Kin, and Clan in a Kabardian Village: Figuring out Who’s Who and Why It Matters in the North Caucasus”

Germany Year Zero

Mon, Apr 19, 2010, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum

"Political Liberalism and the Separation-Establishment Debate: A Republican Interpretation"

Thu, Apr 15, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall
Speaker(s):

"On the Nature of Moral Ideals"

Wed, Apr 14, 2010, 12:00 pm to 1:20 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

The White Ribbon

Mon, Apr 12, 2010, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum

Princeton Graduate Conference in Political Theory

Sat, Apr 10, 2010, 9:30 am to 5:00 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

"The Decline and Fall of the American Republic: The Coming Crisis of Constitutional Legitimacy"

Fri, Apr 9, 2010, 12:00 pm to 1:30 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

Princeton Graduate Conference in Political Theory

"The Decline and Fall of the American Republic: A Politicized Military"

Thu, Apr 8, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:30 pm
Location: McCormick 101
Speaker(s):

"The Decline and Fall of the American Republic: An Extremist Presidency"

Wed, Apr 7, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:30 pm
Location: McCormick 101
Speaker(s):

Au revoir les enfants

Mon, Apr 5, 2010, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum

"Establishment, Exclusion, and Democracy"

Thu, Apr 1, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: 219 Aaron Burr Hall
Speaker(s):

Closely Watched Trains

Mon, Mar 29, 2010, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum

Oxford/Princeton Global Norms Workshop

Sat, Mar 27, 2010, 4:00 pm to 6:30 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

Oxford/Princeton Global Norms Workshop

Fri, Mar 26, 2010, 1:00 pm to 6:30 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

I Vitelloni

Mon, Mar 22, 2010, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum

"A Few Words on Mill, Walzer, and Nonintervention"

Thu, Mar 11, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

City of God

Mon, Mar 8, 2010, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum

"Constitutionalism Beyond the State: Myth or Necessity?"

Thu, Mar 4, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

"Climate Change: How Bad is the Chance of Catastrophe?"

Wed, Mar 3, 2010, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Bowl 2, Robertson Hall
Speaker(s):

Badlands

Mon, Mar 1, 2010, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum

"Reality Checks: History Confronts Moral and Political Philosophy"

Thu, Feb 25, 2010, 4:00 pm to 6:30 pm
Location: Bowl 2, Robertson Hall
Speaker(s):

History of Political Thought Project

Wed, Feb 24, 2010, 9:00 am to 5:30 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

Pages