Events Archive - 2008

"Beyond Elections: The Democratic Legitimacy of New Forms of Representation" (Day Two)

"Beyond Elections: The Democratic Legitimacy of New Forms of Representation" (Day One)

"Word & Image in the Philosophy of Hobbes"

Thu, Nov 20, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Aaron Burr Hall 219
Speaker(s):

Lunchtime discussion on John Rawls

Thu, Nov 20, 2008, 12:00 pm to 1:30 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

"Existence: Who Needs It?"

Wed, Nov 19, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Bowl 2, Robertson Hall
Speaker(s):

"Secularism and French Politics: Rethinking "Laïcité" for the Twenty-First Century"

Tue, Nov 18, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

"Seeds of Humanity"

Thu, Nov 13, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:30 pm
Location: McCosh 50
Speaker(s):

"Seeds of Humanity"

Wed, Nov 12, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:30 pm
Location: McCosh 50
Speaker(s):

"The Moral Semantics of Legal Discourse"

Thu, Nov 6, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:15 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

"Ethics in Neuroscience: Lessons from Lobotomy"

Wed, Nov 5, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Room 023, Roberston Hall
Speaker(s):

"Drug Addiction and Personal Autonomy"

Wed, Oct 22, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Bowl 2, Robertson Hall
Speaker(s):

"Liberty and Degradation"

Thu, Oct 16, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

"Prospicience and Geoengineering: What If We Can Dial Our Future?"

Tue, Oct 14, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Guyot Hall, Room 10
Speaker(s):

"Equality and Exemptions in Principle and Practice"

Thu, Oct 9, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

"The Ethical Implications of Recent Research on Race and IQ"

Wed, Oct 8, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: McCormick 101
Speaker(s):

"Global Warming: What Do We Know and What Should We Do?"

Tue, Oct 7, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: McCormick 101
Speaker(s):

"Asian and Western Values and China’s Past, Present, and Future"

Fri, Oct 3, 2008, 10:00 am to 12:00 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

"China’s New Confucianism"

Thu, Oct 2, 2008, 4:30 pm to Fri, Oct 3, 2008, 4:00 pm
Location: Aaron Burr Hall 219
Speaker(s):

"The Ethical Challenge of Climate Change"

Tue, Sep 30, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Dodds Auditorium

"Measuring the Wellbeing of the World"

Thu, Sep 25, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: 300 Wallace Hall
Speaker(s):

Film Forum Series: "Contempt"

Tue, May 6, 2008, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum

Close-Up

Tue, Apr 29, 2008, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum

"Multiculturalism and Secularisms"

Thu, Apr 24, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:15 pm
Location: McCormick 101
Speaker(s):

Bad Education

Tue, Apr 22, 2008, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum

Thomas Hobbes Research Workshop

Fri, Apr 18, 2008, 10:30 am to 6:00 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

The Decalogue 1 & 5

Tue, Apr 15, 2008, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum

"Socioeconomic rights in constitutional law: explaining America away"

Thu, Apr 10, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:15 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

The Seventh Seal

Tue, Apr 8, 2008, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum

Elizabeth Anderson

Thu, Apr 3, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall
Speaker(s):

Stalker

Tue, Apr 1, 2008, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum

"Thinking Politically: Contending Conceptualizations of Support for Collectivities"

Thu, Mar 27, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:15 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

A Taste of Cherry

Tue, Mar 25, 2008, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum

Dr. Guy Kahane / DeCamp Bioethics Seminar

Wed, Mar 12, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Bowl 2, Robertson Hall
Speaker(s):

Cleo from 5 to 7

Tue, Mar 11, 2008, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum

Anthony Pagden

Thu, Mar 6, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall
Speaker(s):

"No Such Thing as the State of Exception"

Wed, Mar 5, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:15 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall
Speaker(s):

The Cloud Capped Star

Tue, Mar 4, 2008, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum

Alex Zakaras

Thu, Feb 28, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall
Speaker(s):

Mother Kusters Goes to Heaven

Tue, Feb 26, 2008, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum

"Abnormal Justice"

Thu, Feb 21, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:15 pm
Location: 301 Marx Hall
Speaker(s):

Miracle in Milan

Tue, Feb 19, 2008, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum

"Are Vaccine Mandates Ethical? -The Case of HPV Vaccine"

Wed, Feb 13, 2008, 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Bowl 1, Robertson Hall
Speaker(s):

Virdiana

Tue, Feb 12, 2008, 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Location: Rocky Theater
Speaker(s):
Tags: Film Forum