Calendar of Events, 2022-23

Students enrolled in the certificate program will be invited to a series of special events throughout the course of the year, including gatherings with faculty and visiting speakers. All events are by invitation only, and specific times and locations will be given to students admitted to the program.

If you would like to meet with Professor Bermann individually to discuss VPL course selection or opportunities, please sign up for an appointment by clicking here.

FALL 2022

Thursday, September 23:  VPL Juniors Welcome Lunch with VPL Director

Friday, October 7:  VPL Welcome Reception at Prospect House

Thursday, October 28:  VPL Cognitive Science Workshop

Monday, October 31: Senior Thesis Workshops with David Kinney and Gabriel Mares

Tuesday, November 1:  Senior Thesis Workshop with Kathryn Joyce

Wednesday, November 9, and Thursday, November 10: Tanner Lectures on Human Values with Fintan O'Toole

Monday, November 14: Film Forum viewing and discussion of Nighjohn

Thursday, November 17:  James A. Moffett ’29 Lectures in Ethics with Robert Gooding-Williams

Friday, December 2:  VPL Students Lunch with VPL Director

 

SPRING 2023

Thursday, February 9:  James A. Moffett '29 Lectures in Ethics with Lea Ypi

Monday, January 30: Senior Thesis Workshops with David Kinney and Gabriel Mares

Tuesday, January 31: Senior Thesis Workshop with Kathryn Joyce

Monday, February 6:  Senior Thesis Workshops with David Kinney and Gabriel Mares

Tuesday, February 7:  Senior Thesis Workshop with Kathryn Joyce

Monday, February 13: Senior Thesis Workshops with David Kinney and Gabriel Mares

Tuesday, February 14: Senior Thesis Workshop with Kathryn Joyce

Monday, February 20: Senior Thesis Workshops with David Kinney and Gabriel Mares

Tuesday, February 21: Senior Thesis Workshop with Kathryn Joyce

Thursday, March 2: Cognitive Science Thesis Writing Workshop, 4:30 - 6:00 PM

Thursday, March 2: Felon Theater project & Ethical Issues Workshop, 7:00 -8:30 PM followed by UCHV panel discussion

Incorporating a Normative Component Into Your Thesis Prospectus – And Your Thesis (A Panel Conversation)  [Date TBA]

VPL Student Conference [Date TBA]

Monday, May 29:  Class Day Celebration